Art Therapist vs Director of an Agency

In my career as an art therapist I have spent many years as a direct service worker.  By that I mean, providing art therapy directly to individuals, groups, families.   I didn’t realize then the luxury of just providing direct services.  I got to go in and help someone heal, learn, communicate, repair through the act of creating art.  It has been a wonderful job for 20 years.  I often can’t believe how lucky I have been.

I now run a rape crisis center and do less clinical work.  As the administrator I have been having to slowly drift from clinical work to administration as I have incorporated art therapy into our center.  It is both exciting to be in a position to develop new things and forward both art therapy and trauma treatment and sad to be doing a little less clinical work.

I do encourage art therapists to get involved in leadership, in administration, in development.  These are skills that help us forward our field as a viable entity in the therapeutic milieu.

Carol Olson, LPC, ATR-BC, CSAC

 

Leave a Reply

