Artist Self

When I was young a majority of my art surrounded my angst, anger, and pain.  I adopted the belief that my artist identity was contingent on being the “tortured artist”. I went on into early adulthood that way.  I was still struggling emotionally and of course my art continued to reflect that, but I also couldn’t shake the feeling that my creativity suffered unless I had something profound (and usually dark) to portray. Soon I was in the  studio, putting in 12 to 15 hour days. On one of those day I was consulting with a fellow artist and he took note of the changes that were happening in my work. I suddenly had the reflective distance I needed and I discovered that my art making was helping me to heal. Soon after that day I learned about Art Therapy from a Professor. I went on to investigate the field but more importantly investigate myself, my journey through my art, and what it all meant. This time of exploration led me on a spiritual path that changed my life.

I wasn’t raised in a home that was spiritual, so the idea was foreign to me. But ultimately the desire for faith was ingrained within me and, naturally, my art began to reflect that. I worked through all my thoughts, feelings and developing beliefs on canvas. My spirituality flourished and when my beliefs became stronger my art was more definitive. To this day I am inspired by my faith and I am open to many more forms of self expression. I was able to fly out of the pigeon-hole I once placed myself in and see myself, my creative spirit, in a new light.  Art has been and continues to be an important part of my life, myself, my faith.

Leave a Reply

